Delicious baby

2561252071_0af988f93f_m

“Delicious baby,” said my student as her child lay suckling in her arms.

“Delicious milk?” I asked.

“No, delicious baby.”

“In English we use delicious for food,” I said.

“In my language, we say delicious baby. I am so happy,” she said.

“Ah,” I said. “You are very happy. Your baby is very precious, like your gold earrings, but much more precious.”

She nodded.

Delicious was not a bad word to describe the baby, I thought. After all, we use ‘delicious’ to describe our feelings, and it encapsulated the delight I saw on her face.

I left the English lesson at “Baby has ten toenails.” Mother, father and child had to go to the Immigration Department. What does the future hold for this child born to asylum seekers in Australia?

Photo peasap
One thought on “Delicious baby

Leave a Reply

